2017 Reading Goals

I have never had any reading goals before, except for my Goodreads challenge, which I am participating in since 2011. But this year, for some reason, I have a very clear idea of what I want to achieve reading-wise, so I thought I would share.

  • Meet my Goodreads goals of 75 books.

To be honest, I have never read this many books in a year. I always set my goal to 100 or 75, and then I keep lowering it. In 2016 I read a total of 54, which I am proud of, but I really want to try to read even more.

  • Read as many books I already own as possible.

The struggle is real, my fellow book hoarders. Nothing makes my day more than browsing Book Depository or Amazon, and buying some books. I do not own that many physical copies because I mostly read e-books, but I have accumulated quite a lot of books I have been meaning to read before I got distracted. Some of the ones I am really looking forward to are these:

  • Read more adult fiction

I have been reading a lot of YA, and at some point, I stopped enjoying it as much as I used to. In the end of 2016 I started reading more adult books and found that I give them higher ratings, so I want to read more of them in 2017.

  • Make notes to write more detailed reviews

I used to write reviews for every book I read, and I really like looking back at some of them to refresh my memory. Then I started reading more and more and got lazy with them. And when I try to write my thoughts after some time has passed, I find that it is very difficult. So I really want to make notes, highlight quotes and write more detailed reviews.

  • Post at least one other post per month at Someone once wrote aside from the monthly wrap-up

This blog is not the most active, but I have managed to write at least my monthly wrap-ups for the whole 2016, which I am proud of. But now I want to have some other content, as well. Hence, this post of my 2017 reading goals!

  • Be more active on my bookstagram

If anyone wants to check it out, it is /someoneoncewrote. I have not been able to find my style yet and I am bad at remembering to take pictures, especially since I do most of my reading on my phone and iPad, but I do want to be better and post more pictures. After all, looking through #bookstagram is one of my favorite things!

That’s it for now, I think. Share your 2017 reading goals, I would love to know! Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Goals

  1. Good luck with your goals! I’m with you on the “read the books you already own” thing. Steelheart is one of my favorite books, I hope you like it! One of my goals this year is to read more classics. I’ve read like 2😁😂 Awesome post! – Abi

    Like

    • Thanks! I really want to read more Brandon Sanderson’s books; I really loved Warbreaker. Oh, reading more classics is a wonderful goal! Some of my personal favorites are Robinson Crusoe, Lady Chatterley’s Lover, To Kill a Mockingbird. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

