September 2016 Wrap-Up

My reading progress hasn’t been the greatest in the last few months, but I did manage to read three books in the month of September. I liked all of them quite a lot, especially Colleen Hoover’s latest book, which resonated with me a lot. I do feel like all books I’ve read lately were very good and interesting and enjoyable, but not great. I’m hoping I will find a new favorite in October. It’s been too long.

Forever Doon (Doon #4) by Carey Corp, Lorie Langdon 3/5

Forever Doon is the last instalment in the Doon series – a magical story with a fairytale quality to it. I fell in love with the setting (Scotland!), seeing the beautiful country, as well as the magical kingdom of Doon through the narrators’ eyes. I liked the characters a lot – they are funny, no-nonsense, delightful and whimsical. I feel like the plot kind of dragged, though – the evil to be conquered kept coming back in every book, and it felt a bit too much. Overall, I enjoyed this series, but I am glad it is finally over.

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover 4/5

Colleen Hoover’s books always have this unputdownable quality to them – even when I don’t like or have a problem with something that is happening, I just can’t stop reading. It Ends With Us was no exception. I would’ve liked for it to be a different kind of story, but life doesn’t work like that, does it?

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas 4/5

Lately I find it hard to rate Sarah J. Maas’ books – they are probably the most hyped and well-loved books at the moment, and they are being rated insanely high. I do not want to be influenced by other people’s opinions, but it is getting impossible. That said, I rated Empire of Storms 4 (3.75) out of 5 stars. At this point I am debating whether my enjoyment of the series still outweighs all the problems I have with it. It probably does, since I did enjoy Empire of Storms a lot. The plot is very intricately woven, very political, full of twists and turns that might be expected, but still make for a great story. The world building is also improving, introducing readers to new places and people. Empire of Storms is a great continuation of the series, and I will definitely be continuing to anticipate the next book(s). I only wish the story was less confusing and more consistent.

Leave a Reply

