June, July and August 2016 Wrap-Up

City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare 4/5

I am so happy that I reread the first three books before continuing with this series!

The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh 3/5

For some reason, I was a little disappointed in and a little bored by The Rose & the Dagger. Having said that, I do like how the story wrapped up – it was a worthy conclusion to a great (at least in the terms of the first book) story!

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare 5/5

City of Heavenly Fire was a beautifully crafted conclusion to the series; I enjoyed it a lot, and am now really glad that I did not give up on The Mortal Instruments,

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher 3/5

Thirteen Reasons Why is an emotional story about a girl that has ended her life, leaving behind a set of tapes addressed to all the people she feels were in some way or another responsible for her decision. I listened to this on audiobook, and I must say it was a wonderful reading experience. The story has two narrators: a girl, Hannah, and a boy, Clay. Hannah has left audio tapes and Clay is one of the people to receive them. Because Clay keeps commenting on everything Hannah says on the tapes, it feels like a conversation between the two of them. And I think that it would not feel as such when reading. Plus, both the narrators’ voices are wonderful and emotional, which only adds to the experience.

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy (Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy #1-10) by Cassandra Clare 4/5

I really enjoyed reading these short stories; my favorites were:

The Whitechapel Fiend: Since I loved the prequel trilogy so much better than The Mortal Instruments, it was such a treat to glimpse into Tessa and Will’s lives in a flashback! Plus, this Jack the Ripper re-imagining was absolutely brilliant.

Nothing But Shadows: I loved the flashbacks so much! I loved James’ story and how it correlated with Simon’s.

The Fiery Trial: I loved the atmospheric descriptions of New York in the beginning and the overall mysterious feel of the story.

Born to Endless Night: One of the most adorable stories.

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare 5/5

I was honestly surprised by how much I loved Lady Midnight – I did not expect that to happen. I loved Emma as the main character; I liked the plotline, the drama. I could have lived without some of those annoying miscommunication/forbidden love tropes, but they did make for a good story!

The City of Mirrors (The Passage #3) by Justin Cronin 4/5

The City of Mirrors is a worthy conclusion to this brilliant series that is bittersweet, sad, uncomfortable, but optimistic, praising the humanity’s ability to survive and endure, which is a great message.

After You (Me Before You #2) by Jojo Moyes 3/5

I am very glad that I did not let reviews influence my reading After You, because I ended up enjoying it as much as the first book. To me, After You felt even more emotional and dark. And I loved finding out what happened to Clark after we have seen her last.

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma 5/5

Forbidden took me by surprise. I was not very comfortable with the premise, but I ended up enjoying this book immensely, and it is now definitely one of my favorites this year!

The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North 5/5

The Sudden Appearance of Hope was my first Claire North book. I have heard the best things about the author, and I am so happy that I picked this up. It left me with a lot of thoughts and quotes that I adore. I loved this!

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout 4/5

Say what you will, but Jennifer L. Armentrout writes absolutely unputdownable books.

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas 4/5

I know that many people did not like ACOTAR, but I actually did not have much problems with it. Having said that, The Court of Mist and Fury was brilliant! I liked how it went even darker and more emotional. I loved how Feyre dealt with everything life threw at her, and I like her even more now. ACOTAR, for me, is actually more interesting and exciting, and sexier that Throne of Glass.

 

 

Leave a Reply

