Bout of Books 17 Read-a-thon

I hereby declare my intentions to participate in my favorite read-a-thon, yay!  It’s high time Bout of Books rolled around, because I have been slacking and not reading as much as I would like during the summer. I have somehow ended up with reading three books simultaneously, so my goal is to finish ’em all. No pressure. Thus, my TBR at the moments is as follows:
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  • Armada by Ernest Cline
  • The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
Monday
  • Pages Read: 140
  • Books Finished: 0

I have been continuing reading The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and read a whooping 140 pages in Monday. Go me! I am enjoying this book a lot – I like the main characters, their struggles are somewhat relatable, and there are not many misunderstandings and miscommunication, which I usually hate in YA books. Plus, Jennifer L. Armentrout always manages to write her books in a way that makes them very, very hard to put down, even though they are usually of a guilty-pleasure kind.

Bout of Books Book-to-Movie Challenge

My favorite book to movie adaptation:

My least favorite book to movie adaptation:

Tuesday

  • Pages Read: 131 (Total: 271)
  • Books Finished: 1

I finished The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and I must say I liked it a lot. I did have a few problems with it (e.g., I would have liked to know more about how Mallory and Rider ended up with their foster parents for 10 years, whether or not Ainsley and Hector became closer, etc.), but it was a fast and enjoyable read. I also continued reading A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. It is taking me a long time. I really do not like how Sarah J. Maas suddenly makes the good guys bad and the bad guys good, though. The love interest of the first book turns into an ass in the second, and if this series is anything like Throne of Glass, then it is a sure bet that in the later books the latest love interest will turn into a monster, as well.

Wednesday

  • Pages Read: 40 (Total: 311)
  • Books Finished: 1

Wednesday was a busy day, so I only managed to read 40 pages of  A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas before bed, but those were very hot 40 pages. Cannot wait to find out what happens next.

Thursday

  • Pages Read: 97 (Total: 408)
  • Books Finished: 2

I finished A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas on Thursday, and gave it 4 stars. Sarah J. Mass’ books are so hyped that I find it difficult to distinguish whether I actually really liked it, or I am being influenced by everybody else’s opinion (I’m just going to have to sleep on it). Anyway, I did enjoy the book a lot! Some parts were really good, some parts – very hot, while some others bored me to tears.

Friday

  • Pages Read: 95 (Total: 503)
  • Books Finished: 2

On Friday I continued reading Armada by Ernest Cline. It is my first Ernest Cline book, and I must say that I enjoy the author’s writing style a lot. Kind of reminds me of Jim Butcher’s and Andy Weir’s writing, too – and I love both of them!

Saturday

  • Pages Read: 144 (Total: 647)
  • Books Finished: 3

On Saturday I finished Armada by Ernest Cline and gave it 3/5 stars. I enjoyed the book a lot, even though I did have a couple of issues with it. I really liked the main character, Zack, but even though there were a bunch of side characters, they weren’t flushed out really well. We didn’t really get to know them, and I would have liked to. I also started reading Forever Doon (Doon #4) by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon. This series is a kind of guilty pleasure read, though I must say I don’t enjoy it as much as I used to. I’m pretty sure it’s the last book in the series, and I am really glad about it, because I want to know how it ends and be done with it.

Sunday

  • Pages Read: 0 (Total: 647)
  • Books Finished: 3

Wow, Sunday was a total fail reading-wise. I did have a fun outdoors-ey day, so all is good.

Wrap-Up

During Bout of Books 17 I read a total of 647 pages. It isn’t a lot (at all), but I am pretty happy that I managed to finish all three books I have been reading simultaneously. That helped me keep up with my Goodreads challenge, which is a bonus. Bout of Books is my favorite – can’t wait for the next one! Hope every one of you who’s stumbled across this post had a wonderful reading week, as well. See you next time!

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books 17 Read-a-thon

Leave a Reply

