May 2016 Wrap-Up

I didn’t thing my having read two books in April justified a wrap-up, especially since both were re-reads (City of Bones & City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare), so I am now back with my May wrap-up. May was an awesome reading month – I’ve finally finished re-reading the first three Mortal Instruments books, and started reading the other ones, which I have never actually came around to picking up. I also started Shades of Magic series (?), since they’ve been sitting on my shelf for ages, and all is well in the reading world.

One with You (Crossfire #5) by Sylvia Day 3/5

Crossfire series started off very hot and dark and intriguing, and went downhill with every book. Although I enjoyed One with You a little bit more than the previous two books, both of which I rated 2/5, this was not the conclusion I was hoping for. A couple of plot points that were introduced in this last instalment were never mentioned or hinted to before and made absolutely no sense to me, which I found to be very annoying, because I feel like it is just lazy writing in order to reach a certain page quantity. Also, so many things were left unresolved, and I really don’t care for it. As much as I grew attached to Eva and Gideon, I am glad their story is over (though it should’ve been over two books ago, don’t you think?).

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare 4/5

I didn’t think I would ever re-read these books and continue on with the series, but Shadowhunters TV show changed my mind. I didn’t want to pick up where I’ve left off and start reading the fourth book, since I’ve read the first three years ago and didn’t remember much, so I picked them all up once again. I was very surprised, because I enjoyed them much more than the first time around! This time I decided not to dwell on continuous teen angst and tedious tropes, and noticed that the writing is actually quite humorous and lively, and that the plot is very action-packed and politically-driven, which is my favorite kind.

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab 3/5

I liked A Darker Shade of Magic a lot! Though the start of the story was very slow and confusing, the pace did pick up in the second half, and I could barely put the book down. I’ve never read anything by V.E. Schwab before, and I find that she is a really great storyteller. Slow and confusing is perfectly understandable when you have to introduce the reader to four different Londons and a complicated magic system. I feel that it is a strong beginning to a potentially very interesting and intriguing series.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas 4/5

I wanted to refresh my memory before picking up A Court of Mist and Fury, so I also re-read ACOTAR in May. And although it’s only been a few months since I’ve read ACOTAR the first time, there were a lot of things I didn’t remember and some things I didn’t catch before. I thought I liked Feyre before, but this time she annoyed the hell out of me, though she did redeem herself in my eyes when she started to make smarter decisions, which I appreciate.

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab 4/5

I loved to get to know more about elemental magic, and I loved seeing characters going their separate ways. The plot of A Gathering of Shadows was mostly focused on a magic tournament whose goal is to basically reassert the power of rulers. And as per usual, the most interesting things are going on behind the scenes. I also enjoyed little flashbacks to events that happened in the four months since our main characters saw each other last. I loved that Lila has become a real, not self-proclaimed, pirate. The ending was heartbreaking and made me feel for Kell so much! And I can’t wait to read the next one!

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4) by Cassandra Clare 4/5

City of Fallen Angels kind of felt like the first book in a new series, which was actually kind of nice. New plot points, new struggles, new stories, new big bads! This series is ridiculously action-packed, and it is getting harder and harder to put these books down.

 

Leave a Reply

