February 2016 Wrap-Up

February flew by, but fortunately, it was filled with some wonderful reads. I did get a little tired of YA Fantasy, so I finally read some contemporaries and started an adult historical fiction series I wanted to start forever.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell 3/5

Like all other books by Rainbow Rowell that I have read (Landline and Eleanor & Park), Attachments is spellbinding and unputdownable. I came to care and root for the characters only a few pages in, because they are truly beautifully written and relatable. Their day-to-day struggles hit very close to home and you can’t help but hope that everything will be okay, because then there is still hope for you. It is a wonderful story, and I enjoyed it immensely. The only problem I had with it was its improbable resolution. Though it is supposed to be a late 90’s rom-com, I was expecting the ending to be better done.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 3/5

Leigh Bardugo it an incredible author and writer. Six of Crows was exactly what I was hoping for – characters with complicated, dark backgrounds; beautifully done storytelling; and promises of sinister things to come. I can’t really say I love heist stories, which may be why I didn’t enjoy Six of Crows as much as I enjoyed The Grisha Trilogy. But I love the Grisha world, the characters, their dynamics, and their banter.

Never Never: Part Three by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher 2/5

Never Never: Part Three is most likely the worst ending ever ever. I enjoyed the story up until the point where the “mystery” is “resolved”. I was really hoping for something more intricate and complicating, but now it seems to me that reading Never Never was a waste of time.

The Rose Society by Marie Lu 3/5

I am not quite sure how I feel about The Rose Society. I like the setting, the writing, the characters – to an extent, but this story doesn’t seem to stick with me. I read it, I enjoyed it, but if somebody asked me what’s it about, I wouldn’t know what to say.

Magnolia by Kristi Cook 4/5

I am a sucker for small town settings, and Magnolia did not disappoint. Because some of the books I’ve read lately, I’ve begun to associate YA with silly teenagers doing illogical things, and I am happy to say that Magnolia is not like that at all.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes 4/5

Me Before You is a captivating and emotional story with not only enticing and controversial plot points, but also with intelligent, humorous and beautiful writing and endearing, charming and lovable characters. It is a story about coming of age of sorts – it is about Lou becoming the person she was supposed to become. I loved seeing how much her character had grown toward the end – she did become her best self thanks to Will.

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons 4/5

I had very conflicting thoughts on The Bronze Horseman. On the one hand, I found it excruciating, exhausting and irritating; one the other – it never felt boring and I couldn’t get enough of it. It is full of contradictions – a beautiful, yet horrifying setting; repetitive writing that can’t help but mesmerise and get the point across; annoying, yet essential characters with flaws that you can’t help but hate, because they are so relatable. I am amazed at how a book that irritated me so much brought me so much enjoyment!

 

Leave a Reply

