January 2016 Wrap-Up

January was a great reading month – I’ve managed to read 6 books, and most of them I really loved and some of them are my new favorites.

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs 3/5

Library of Souls is a fast-paced, action-packed and exciting read, and a great conclusion to a very unique and strange series. I definitely liked it better than the previous instalment, though not as much as the first book, which is, and will always remain, my favorite.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 4/5

Despite the over-hype and mixed reviews, I enjoyed Red Queen a lot. Objectively, it does lack originality and world building, and it does have that “commoner becomes a princess” trope; however, it is quite intriguing, fast-paced, and addictive.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken 5/5

Passenger is the kind of a story I loved reading as a kid – a girl looking for lost treasure, traveling through space and time, having adventures of her life. The plot is very enticing; the language – beautiful and descriptive and atmospheric; the setting – absolutely fascinating and amazing; the main characters – interesting and intriguing, and very authentic.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard 2/5

I really wanted to like Truthwitch, because 1) hype; 2) witches; 3) Sarah J. Mass calling it “instant classic”, but I honestly did not enjoy it at all. I feel like most problems I had with this story started to resolve in the very end, and it makes me think that this book should have been at least twice as long, if basic world building takes about 400 pages.

Feverborn by Karen Marie Moning 4/5

I love Fever Series, it is one of my favorite urban fantasies! The only complaint I have is a very, very abrupt ending. I feel like Feverborn should have been longer and should have explored more things, because it left me with a feeling that nothing important happened storywise.

The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin 4/5

N. K. Jemisin amazes me same as George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson – she is an amazing storyteller that comes up with the most unique epic fantasy world, the most authentic characters, and the most unexpected plot twists. The Fifth Season is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

